TNA produces first MP, Tirus Ngahu, in Kangema

Kangema Member of parliament elect Tirus Ngahu, addressing the media outside Muguru ACK hall moments after he was declared the winner on September 19, 2012. Mr Ngahu has been declared the winner MP-elect after trouncing his opponents in the just the General Elections 2013, and consequently becoming the first TNA party MP-elect in Murang'a County. FILE/JOSEPH KANYI
By SAMUEL KARANJA  ( email the author)

Posted  Tuesday, March 5  2013 at  15:50

In Summary

  • The MP-elect garnered 31,939 votes toppling his closest rival Mr Duncan Githiga of Saba Saba Asili who came a distance second with 4,542.

Celebrations erupted in Kangema constituency Tuesday as former MP Tirus Ngahu easily defended the seat becoming the first TNA party MP-elect in Murang’a County.

Mr Ngahu made history again as he was the first TNA MP in the last parliament following a by-election late last year which was occasioned by the death of area MP and the Environment minister the late John Michuki.

The MP-elect garnered 31,939 votes toppling his closest rival Mr Duncan Githiga of Saba Saba Asili who came a distance second with 4,542.

Mr Mbatia Mwangi (ODM) was third with 326 votes while Kenda party’s George Mureithi garnered 66 votes.

The Kangema Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission returning officer Mr Isaac Ruto announced Mr Ngahu the winner of the national assembly race to the ululation of the voters who had gathered at Muguru hall tallying centre.

There was song and dance on the streets of Kangema town as the MP-elect joined his constituents to celebrate the victory.

Mr Ruto, the returning officer said the area had a 94 per cent voter turnout and described the process as very peaceful and orderly. The number of rejected votes was 285.

Jubilee presidential candidate Uhuru Kenyatta garnered 35,573 votes while Mr Raila Odinga of Cord Alliance came a distance second with 485 votes in the constituency.

Mr Peter Kenneth, the Eagle Alliance candidate had 109 votes while Narc Kenya’s Martha Karua had 94 votes.

Others were Mr James Ole Kiyiapi of RBK party (57), ARK’s Mr Abduba Dida (34) and, Safina’s Paul Muite garnered 15 votes.

“The voter turnout was very high at 95 per cent and voters carried out the exercise in peace,” the IEBC official told the Nation.

Mr Ruto said the process went well apart from the accidental fatal shooting and killing of an electoral officer by a police officer under unclear circumstances while transporting voting materials.

Ichichi polling station presiding officer Mr Mwaniki Waithanji, 35, was said to have been accidentally shot on the head by Administration police Corporal Maiywa Lonasio early Tuesday morning.

Mr Lonasio is attached to the Kangema District Officer’s office.

At the same time, provisional results indicated that TNA party had taken an early lead in the Governor, Senator and Women representative races as well as the National assembly positions in six of the seven constituencies in the county.

The party Senator candidate Mr Kembi Gitura was leading with 113 342 votes while Mr Mwangi wa Iria (Governor) was ahead with 97,649 votes.

Women Representative candidate Sabina Wanjiru Chege was leading with 133,125 votes.

Readers should confine themselves to our Blog Rules. We reserve the right to disallow any person found spreading hate.